

Brussels, 17th June 2019

Dear Bureau Members of the European Parliament,

Newly elected MEPs Carles Puigdemont, Antoni Comín and Oriol Junqueras, have been prevented from taking office as Members of the European Parliament by the Spanish authorities after the European election on 26th of May. The list led by Carles Puigdemont and Antoni Comín received 1.025.411 votes, and the list led by Oriol Junqueras received 1.257.484 votes.

On 14th of June 2019, elected MEP Oriol Junqueras –in pre-trial detention for 593 days for having organized the Catalan self-determination referendum in 2017– has been banned by the Spanish Supreme Court to leave the prison in order to take the MEP credential. Furthermore, on the 13th of June 2019, the Spanish Electoral Board imposed elected MEPs Carles Puigdemont and Antoni Comín –in exile since October 2017– to be personally in Madrid in order to take their seats as MEPs.

The decisions taken by the Spanish authorities banning newly elected MEPs from taking office and attending to the European Parliament's constitutive plenary session on the 2nd July 2019 are a clear violation of their political rights and a disregard of more than 2 million European citizens that voted for them.

These acts of the Spanish authorities attempt against the political rights of the MEP-elected Carles Puigdemont, Oriol Junqueras, Antoni Comín and more than 2 million European citizens that voted for them. An unacceptable breach of the Rules of Procedures of the European Parliament, the consolidated Treaties of the EU, the European Charter of Fundamental Rights, and the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights.

It is clear that the intention of these decisions are to prevent the concerned MEPs to be granted all the rights and freedoms as European representatives and, at the same time, to avoid any debate in the



European Parliament that might put into question the judicial trial against the Catalan political and social leaders.

For all the above-mentioned reasons, we urge you:

-) to recognise and protect the political rights of Carles Puigdemont, Oriol Junqueras and Antoni Comín and those of the 2.2 million people that voted for them;
-) to call on the Spanish Electoral and Judiciary Authorities to respect the results of the European Elections and recognise and respect the right of the aforementioned elected MEPs to immunity and to hold office.

Yours sincerely,

- 1. MEP Tim Aker
- 2. MEP Christian Allard
- 3. MEP Martina Anderson
- 4. MEP Rasmus Andresen
- 5. MEP Margrete Auken
- 6. MEP Pernando Barrena
- 7. MEP Izaskun Bilbao
- 8. MEP David Borrelli
- 9. MEP Geert Bourgeois
- 10. MEP José Bové
- 11. MEP Lynn Boylan
- 12. MEP Damien Carême
- 13. MEP Matt Carthy
- 14. MEP Ellie Chowns
- 15. MEP Jakop Dalunde
- 16. MEP Dennis De Jong
- 17. MEP Petra De Sutter
- 18. MEP Karima Delli



- 19. MEP Mark Demesmaeker
- 20. MEP Özlem Demirel
- 21. MEP Cornelias Ernst
- 22. MEP Jill Evans
- 23. MEP Daniel Freund
- 24. MEP Enrico Gasbarra
- 25. MEP Iveta Grigule-P terse
- 26. MEP José Gusmão
- 27. MEP Ian Hudghton
- 28. MEP Anneli Jäätteenmäki
- 29. MEP Yannick Jadot
- 30. MEP Assita Kanko
- 31. MEP Patrick Le Hyaric
- 32. MEP Magid Magid
- 33. MEP António Marinho e Pinto
- 34. MEP Marisa Matías
- 35. MEP Aileen McLeod
- 36. MEP Gesine Meißner
- 37. MEP Tilly Metz
- 38. MEP Martina Michels
- 39. MEP Luke Ming Flanagan
- 40. MEP Ana Miranda
- 41. MEP Miroslavs Mitrofanovs
- 42. MEP Liadh Ní Riada
- 43. MEP Ralph Packet
- 44. MEP Manu Pineda
- 45. MEP Sira Rego
- 46. MEP Diana Riba
- 47. MEP Michèle Rivasi
- 48. MEP Maria Eugenia Rodríguez Palop
- 49. MEP Catherine Rowett



- 50. MEP María Dolores Sánchez Caldentey
- 51. MEP Mounir Satouri
- 52. MEP Martin Schirdewan
- 53. MEP Helmut Scholz
- 54. MEP Molly Scott Cato
- 55. MEP Alyn Smith
- 56. MEP Jordi Solé
- 57. MEP Barbara Spinelli
- 58. MEP Bart Staes
- 59. MEP Helga Stevens
- 60. MEP Tineke Strik
- 61. MEP Josep-Maria Terricabras
- 62. MEP Yana Toom
- 63. MEP Estefania Torres Martinez
- 64. MEP Marie Toussaint
- 65. MEP Ramon Tremosa
- 66. MEP Miguel Urbán
- 67. MEP Ernest Urtasun
- 68. MEP Ivo Vajgl
- 69. MEP Bodil Valero
- 70. MEP Anneleen Van Bossuyt
- 71. MEP Johan Van Overtveldt
- 72. MEP Marie-Pierre Vieu
- 73. MEP Idoia Villanueva Ruiz
- 74. MEP Nikolaj Villumsen
- 75. MEP Tatjana Ždanoka
- 76. MEP Gabriele Zimmer